Don’t Duck Responsibility For Your Free Speech

The “Duck Dynasty” uproar has some Christians bemoaning the demise of free speech in our nation.  But there are two treasured pillars in our unique American system: the second one is a free market where corporations who hire colorful, free-speaking icons also chase after the largest possible audiences and market shares. Ask liberal foot-in-mouth giants Keith Olbermann and Martin Bashir how they’re earning a living these days; it’s certainly not from MSNBC. Along with all citizens, I have the right to say whatever I want . . . and my employer has the right to terminate his contract with me if my expressions cause him more bother than I am worth. Someone once observed: “Tell your boss what you really think of him – and the truth will set you free.” I found that one out the hard way, and now Phil Robertson has too.

About David B. Smith

I'm a math professor at San Bernardino Valley College - awesome place! - and author of adult Christian fiction. Lisa and I have two grown daughters and four grandkids.
This entry was posted in Duck Dynasty, First Amendment, Keith Olbermann, Phil Robertson and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

