Thanks, Dr. Rockwell

IMG_0888Forty-one years ago, I began taking math classes from this man. Dr. Richard Rockwell, still a sought-after professor at PUC, was kind enough to drive down to Napa last week for a reunion lunch. I’m grateful today for the twin legacies of his brilliant teaching and also his patient, unassuming Christian faith. He undoubtedly rolled his eyes on many occasions at my classroom foibles – and back in the 70s I was still finding my way to a mature Christian faith. But today I count Dr. Rockwell as one of the positive influences in my life. Following in his footsteps, I’m now a math professor as well – not in his league by any means, but what a wonderful and rewarding life. My daughter Karli chose the same career path, so I’m gladly reminded of the C. S. Lewis quote where all day long we are helping other people toward one destination or another.

About David B. Smith

I'm a math professor at San Bernardino Valley College - awesome place! - and author of adult Christian fiction. Lisa and I have two grown daughters and four grandkids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

