Thank You, Mercy Me

MERCYME

In terms of “In Christ you are a new creation,” I’m finding eloquent sermons in my stack of Mercy Me CDs. It seems to be this band’s recurring theme, and I hope they keep on singing to my soul for the next fifty years.

 

No matter the bumps, No matter the bruises, No matter the scars, Still the truth is

The cross has made you flawless

No matter the hurt, Or how deep the wound is, No matter the pain, Still the truth is

The cross has made you flawless

Off the same album, “Welcome to the New,” which KSGN has had on its “I Love This Song” top-hits list for a well-deserved while, is the song “Greater.”

Bring your tired; bring your shame; Bring your guilt; bring your pain

Don’t you know that’s not your name; You will always be much more to Me

Every day I wrestle with the voices That keep telling me I’m not right

But that’s all right

‘Cause I hear a voice, and He calls me redeemed; When others say I’ll never be enough

And greater is the One living inside of me; Than he who is living in the world

Bring your doubts; bring your fears; Bring your hurt; bring your tears

There’s be no condemnation here; You are holy, righteous, and redeemed

There’ll be days I lose the battle; Grace says that it doesn’t matter

‘Cause the cross already won the war

 

Then there’s this from the album “The Generous Mr. Lovewell”:

Days will come when you don’t have the strength

When all you hear is you’re not worth anything

Wondering if you ever could be loved

And if they truly saw your heart they’d see too much

You’re beautiful

You are made for so much more than all of this

You’re beautiful

You are treasured, You are sacred, You are His
And praying that you have the heart to find

‘Cause you are more than what is hurting you tonight

For all the lies you’ve held inside so long

And they are nothing in the shadow of the cross

Before you ever took a breath

Long before the world began

Of all the wonders He possessed There was one more precious

Of all the earth and skies above

You’re the one He madly loves enough to die

You’re beautiful

You’re beautiful

In His eyes
 

About David B. Smith

I'm a math professor at San Bernardino Valley College - awesome place! - and author of adult Christian fiction. Lisa and I have two grown daughters and four grandkids.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Mercy Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

