A Political Prayer

Here’s my prayer for calm and grace during this political season. This was originally posted in the spiritual resources website “Answers For Me,” and is certainly timely this time around with five weeks to go.

Dear God: Lord, please help me to start remembering that I don’t need to set the entire world straight! It’s invigorating to argue . . . and I do it so well. Somehow I inherited (or developed on my own) a spicy and slicy tongue – and I surely do enjoy using it. But I know that it’s wrong, and also counterproductive.

Yesterday at Costco, while poring over the book section, a political junkie – I’m one too – began holding court, telling me why her army was brilliant and that the other side was a sorry collection of fools. And it was so tempting to dish some stats and pithy quotes at her, to taste the satisfaction of shutting her up. But then I realized that, like me, she’s a fragile and partially informed human, sincerely well-meaning in her love of country. So I finally said: “Well, ma’am, I have to confess that I don’t see that issue quite like you do. But I love chatting with you – and you have a really nice day.” (That’s just one tiny victory, though, in a long and heated row of setbacks.)

So please give me a sense of proportion, so that I’ll only do battle when things really count, or when your honor is at stake. I want to have the same quiet calm Jesus had when he went on the Crossfire of his day, and never said a mumblin’ word.

In Jesus’ name, Amen!

About David B. Smith

I'm a math professor at San Bernardino Valley College - awesome place! - and author of adult Christian fiction. Lisa and I have two grown daughters and four grandkids.
This entry was posted in Elections, Prayer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

