Timeless Proposals

carson

SPOILER ALERT: If you’re working your way through Downton Abbey, skip this!!

As a writer working on a hopefully endless series of Bangkok love stories, I’ve had to imagine a lot of marriage proposals. Honestly, none can be as sweet and poignant as when the crusty Mr. Carson finally asks for Mrs. Hughes’ hand at the end of Season Five. They’d discussed platonically buying a B & B together; all at once it gets wondrously personal.

Mrs. Hughes: Suppose you want to move away and change your life entirely. You don’t want to be stuck with me.

Mr. Carson: But that’s the point

H: What is?

C: I do want to be stuck with you.

H: I’m not convinced I can be hearing this right.

C: You are if you think I’m asking you to marry me. (pause) Well?

H: Well, you could knock me down with a feather.

C: You’re not offended?

H: Mr. Carson, I can assure you, the very last thing in the world that I am at this moment is offended.

C: You can take as long as you like. I won’t press you. If there’s one thing I do know, I’m not marrying anyone else.

H: Well, then . . . (hands him a glass of champagne)

C: What exactly are we celebrating?

H: We’re celebrating the fact that I can still get a proposal at my age.

C: Then that’s . . . it?

H: Of course I’ll marry you, you old booby. I thought you’d never ask.

 

About David B. Smith

I'm a math professor at San Bernardino Valley College - awesome place! - and author of adult Christian fiction. Lisa and I have two grown daughters and four grandkids.
This entry was posted in Downton Abbey, Marriage Proposals, PBS, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

