Book Review: “Bridge to Haven”

HAVEN

I’m on a roll with Francine Rivers’ books, and want to again affirm how much I appreciate her compelling expressions of muscular Christian faith. This book has a painful detour into the corruptions of Hollywood; it also contains a poetic depiction of marital love. Both are tastefully shared in a way that’s elegant and never prurient.

I remember when I first read C. S. Lewis’s powerful “space trilogy” of Christian sci-fi tales and being surprised to come across an occasional “hell” or “damn.” The nonbelievers in the book would swear; I recall a common laborer blurting out an irreverent “Christ!” when something irritated him. To me, these made the books more compelling; in addition, the believers’ own lives of purity and elevated moral sensibilities were seen as an attractive thing.

I salute Francine for her commitment to realism in her writing. I have to confess that I find this particular central character difficult to like. Abra is generally a selfish and often shallow character; however, this gifted author’s main theme is always redemption, and once again she has succeeded very nicely.

About David B. Smith

I'm a math professor at San Bernardino Valley College - awesome place! - and author of adult Christian fiction. Lisa and I have two grown daughters and four grandkids.
This entry was posted in Books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

