THIS David Smith Is the True Hero!

1140-george-bush-portraits-of-courage-corporal-smith.imgcache.revd9c22cc3c57dae02347587e2d7375910

Here on Memorial Day, allow me to brag about David Smith . . . but definitely not me. President George W. Bush has taken to painting some American heroes, and this beautiful picture is of Corporal David Smith who conquered PTSD and is an authentic national hero. I once found out by accident that the 55,000 dead, there are SIXTEEN David Smiths carved on the Vietnam War Memorial in Washington, D.C. That’s 16 Mrs. Smiths who are widowed and still grieve nearly a half-century later. Sixteen homes where Mom and Dad won’t see their son David until Resurrection Morning. I have spent my entire life on the easy side of history, never having to hold a gun, tote a medic’s bag, or face an enemy across Normandy Beach or the Mekong Delta. So believe me when I say that I never once complain or utter a peep when I file my tax returns on April 15. These 17 David’s have earned my support and my undying respect.

Thanks to President Bush for a truly classy gift to our nation!

About David B. Smith

I'm a math professor at San Bernardino Valley College - awesome place! - and author of adult Christian fiction. Lisa and I have two grown daughters and four grandkids.
This entry was posted in Memorial Day, President Bush, PTSD, Uncategorized, Veterans and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

